Four Institutions Receive Accreditation Certificates

University Grants Commission (UGC) awarded accreditation certificates to Central Department of Hydrology and Meteorology, TU; Pashchimanchal Campus, Kaski; Gupteshwor Mahadev Multiple Campus, Kaski and Waling Multiple Campus, Syangja in a ceremony on 26th Feb 2021 in the UGC Seminar Hall. UGC Chairperson Prof. Dr. Bhim Prasad Subedi handed over the accreditation certificates to these institutions. The UGC Board meeting held on the 6th of May 2020 had decided to award the accreditation certificates to these higher education institutions. UGC Secretary Prof. Shankar Prasad Bhandari, PRT Co-coordinators, authorities and staff of the accredited institutions and other staff of UGC attended the ceremony.

Addressing the ceremony, Chairperson Prof. Subedi said that quality assurance for higher education system has become an important issue worldwide and it can be a driver for institutions to achieve excellence in higher education. He further said the awards placed a greater responsibility on the part of the recipients and advised them to continue the worth of the certificate for ever. He congratulated the institutions for their accomplishments and wished for the future progress of the institutions.

Congratulating the institutions, UGC Secretary Prof. Bhandari said that there is a big challenge of assuring quality higher education and the Commission has been striving to take initiatives to continuously improve the quality in higher education. Wishing for the future progress of the institutions, he thanked the institutions for their commitment for maintaining the quality in the future. Authorities of these institutions expressed their happiness on achieving the certificates and assured that the value of certificate will be maintained as the Commission has trusted them.

Department of Hydrology and Metrology and Paschimanchal Campus are constituent institutes of TU. Gupteshor Mahadev Multiple Campus and Waling Multiple Campus are community campuses affiliated to TU. With this, the total number of accredited institutions has reached 60. Among these institutions 36 are community campuses, 5 are constituent campuses, 1 is private campus and other 7 are reaccredited campuses. Seventy two higher education institutions have completed the QAA cycle and are in process of accreditation.

Central Department of Hydrology and Metrology is a constituent institute of TU established in 2044 in Kirtipur, Kathmandu. It offers different academic programs at Master’s and Ph.D. level. Currently it has 48 students. The campus submitted a letter of intent (LoI) for Quality Assurance and Accreditation (QAA) process in 2018. It submitted a self study report (SSR) to UGC on 2019 and a peer review team (PRT) visit led by Prof. Shiva Kumar Rai was conducted on 26 -28 Dec 2020. It completed the QAA cycle on 29 Dec 2020.

Paschimanchal Campus was established in 2038 as an engineering campus of TU in Pokhara, Kaski. It is a constituent campus of Tribhuvan University and offers engineering programs at Bachelor and Master's level. It has 1705 students and 109 faculties. It entered the process of QAA after the approval of its LoI by the UGC on 25 Jan 206. UGC approved its SSR in 22 Dec 2019. A PRT Team led by Prof. Dr. Bhola Thapa visited the campus on 16-18 Dec 2020. It completed the QAA cycle on 23 Dec 2020.

Guptesohor Mahadev Multiple Campus is community campus established in 2064 in Chhorepatan, Pokhara. It is community campus affiliated from TU and it offers different 5 programs at bachelor and master’s level. It has 571 students and 29 faculties. It entered the QAA process on 1 April 2015 and completed the QAA cycle on 24 Dec 2020. An expert team lead by Prof. Dr. Prem Raj Pant made the PRT visit of the campus on 25-27 Nov 2020.

Established in 2037 at Waling Municipality-9, Syangja, Waling Multiple Campuses is a community-based campus affiliated from TU. It offers programs at bachelor and master’s levels in Humanities and Social Sciences, Management and Education. It has 1008 students and 33 faculties. It came into the QAA process from 13 Jul 2012 and completed QAA cycle on 26 Dec 2020. An expert team led by Prof. Dr. Panna Thapa made the PRT visit of the campus on 8-10 Dec 2020. It completed QAA cycle on 26 Dec 2020.

The Commission awards the accreditation to the campuses after the successful accomplishment of the Quality Assurance and Accreditation (QAA) process that encompasses the detailed evaluation of the campus against the eight different criteria, benchmarks of policy and procedures, curricular aspects, teaching-learning and evaluation, research, consultancy and extension, infrastructure and learning resources, student support and guidance, information system, and public information.