Special Message

Recent News / Events

Dec 14, 2017

The Board Meeting of the University Grants Commission held on 9th August 2017 has made the decision to approve the budget and programs for the fiscal year 2017/18 (2074/75) with the total amount of Rs. 9.917915 billon for the operation and capital development of higher education sector. Out of this budget, Rs 1.823 billion has been allocated for the capital development of higher education institutions in the country. It is 18.36% of the total budget while 81.63% has been allocated for the operation. Rs. 6.645 billion has been allocated for Tribhuvan University, which amounts to 67% of the total higher education budget. The Commission has also allocated Rs. 0.65 billion for regular and physical facility development grants to community colleges across the country. The grants will be provided to the community campuses on the basis of formula funding and other set criteria.

University Grants Commission has initiated a project of mapping all the higher education institutions (universities, including constituent, community and private campuses) in Nepal. The objective of the project is to show the location and the distribution of higher education institutions using GIS methodology. The mapping further aims to show the exact campus location,total number of students, programs, geographical terrain, access roads, institutionís contact information and campus buildings.

University Grants Commission recently awarded the accreditation certificate of quality assurance to two higher education institutions: Madhyabindu Multiple Campus (MMC), Nawalparasi and College of Biomedical Engineering and Applied Sciences (CBEAS), Kathmandu. NMC is a community campus affiliated to Tribhuvan University and CBEAS is a private college affiliated to Purbanchal University. Likewise, the Quality Assurance and Accreditation Committee (QAAC) has recommend the UGC board for the accreditation of Saptagandaki Multiple Campus (SMC), Chitwan.

University Grants Commission Nepal has recently formed a High Level Committee for the intensive study of the structure, governance and financing of higher education as per the federal structure of the country. The 7 member committee, coordinated by Prof. Dr. Triratna Manandhar, is to submit the report of the study by November, 2017. Prof. Dr. Keshar Jung Baral, Prof. Dr. Ramesh Prasad Bhattarai, Prof. Dr. Shuilu Manandhar, Prof. Dr. Abdul Quiuum, Dr. Hari Prasad Lamsal, and Mr. Subas Chandra Dhungel are the members of the committee.